Being the Oldest

Yesterday I was asked “What’s the best thing about being the oldest sibling?”

I can’t stop thinking about it. I feel like that very answer has defined my life.

Of course the best thing is being able to boss them around! Though, you have to consider their free will to do as they please, so it doesn’t always work out the way I want it.

In all honesty, my favorite part of being the oldest is my ability to inspire them simply be being myself. Looking at them, I see a it of me in each of them.

When I was young, I begged and begged for siblings. At long last, I became a big sister at five. I was ready for the responsibility of being a good role model. I knew I would have to take care of them and be there for them when they felt they had no one else. I felt a desire to show them that they could do anything they put their minds to, they could follow their passions and always be true to themselves no matter who was watching.

20 Years later and I am so proud of each of my siblings.  They are creative, dramatic, understanding, loving, adventurous souls that are forever linked to mine.

Leave a Reply

